new ad fbAs President of Old River-Winfree Founders Day and the 5K Run/Walk Benefiting the Wounded Warrior Project in Memory of Pfc Wesley R. Riggs, I have walked in the 5K Run/Walk. I weighed 190 lbs, 62 years old, and totally out of shape.

But, I didn’t care! I knew I wanted to walk, the best I could, for our heroes coming back from the Afghanistan and Iraq Theaters of War! I knew that every time my foot hit the ground, I was extending a hand to a soldier or marine in need of support. A hand to help the Wounded Warrior Project lift them our of despair (PTSD which is very prevalent), and help them physically, mentally, and spiritually!

I walked in flip flops and had quite a hard time keeping up with the other walkers. But, I finished, I did it!

I felt so good when I saw the finish line coming up! The fastest time that day was 17 minutes; I was the very last to cross the finish line, but I was just as proud as if I had come in first!

Tears come to my eyes as I think of that day and what it meant to me and those I was helping. Those my big old feet were giving hope to.

Please join me as I participate again this year! By the way, I finished in 1 Hour and 15 minutes!! 

Beat that time! Great T-Shirts; Babies can participate in the Stroller Derby; Kid’s in the Kid’s Fun Run, too!

This is our 5th year to do this and we have made it a First Class Event for you! Party afterwards for participants!

Help me, help our warriors!

PS:  I now weigh 140 lbs and am 63 years old!