With the Republican Primary Election approaching quickly Chambers County voters will have to make the choice of who they feel will fulfill the duties of each position to best serve the citizens of Chambers in County on May 29th

There are two candidates running for the Chambers County Sheriff office. Brian Hawthorne, a retired Texas Department of Public Safety officer and Monroe Kruezer, who served as sheriff in 2001 -2004.

Commissioners Pct.1 is a highly contested race with three candidates running against Incumbent Mark Huddleston, who is running in the Democrat race. Opposing Huddleston are Eric Bagwell, Arlette Hankamer-Williams and Jimmy Gore.

In the County Tax-Assessor Collector race voters will have to choose between Robin Sudberry-Boles and recently appointed Denise Hutter. Hutter was appointed to the position after Margie Henry decided to retire at the first of the year.

Two Republicans are running for the 344th District Judge position. Richard Baker and Randy McDonald are seeking to fill the shoes of longtime District Judge Carroll Wilborn, Jr. who will be retiring from the bench at the end of his term.

There are no locally contested Democratic Party candidates in the primary election. The only two Democrats from Chambers County running are Incumbent County Commissioner Pct. 1 Mark Huddleston and State Representative Craig Eiland for District 23. Eiland is facing three opponents, Wayne Fairchild of Dickinson, Bill Wallace of Mont Belvieu and Rachel Delgado of Hitchcock. There are over twelve candidates running for the –


newly formed District 36 for State Senate; Keith Casey, Jim Engstrand, Ky Griffin, Mike Jackson, Chuck Meyer, Kim Morrell, Lois Myers, Steve Stockman, Stephen Takach, Daniel Whitton, Tim Wintill, Max Martin (D) and Michael Cole (L).

Candidates running for U.S. Senate are Glenn Addison, Joe Agris, Curt Cleaver, Ted Cruz, David Dewhurst, Ben Gambini (from Winnie), Craig James, Tom Leppert and Lela Pittenger.

In the Chambers County Constable race candidates are Pct.1 Incumbent Dennis Dugat is running against Larry Smith and George Daniels. Pct. 6 Incumbent Robert Barrow is running against Marc Estes. Unopposed candidates for constable offices are Pct.2 Don Langford, Pct. 3 Donnie Standley, Pct.4 Ben “Butch”Bean Jr.,

Other positions that voters will be picking candidates for are Railroad Commission, State Board of Education District 7, State Senate, U.S. President, County Attorney, District Attorney, and Commissioner Pct.3.